Southern Fried

It’s my Friday, and I decided to get shit-faced and watch Fried Green Tomatoes for the umpteenth time.  I love that movie (stop judging me!), but it always make me sad for what’s been lost.  All of those Southern cafes and diners and joints that have gone before.  Those dives where you knew the regulars who came in for a quick bite, and even greeted strangers with a smile.  Gone forever.  I look at that movie and see the South (and elsewhere) as it used to be.  Not with all of the racism and prejudice that darkened the world at that time, but the good-heartedness, the sense of family, the comraderie of neighbors (do you even know your neighbors now?), and the closeness of the community that prevailed during that period.

It gives me the melancholies.  I’m all about technology and progress, but sometimes it makes me so very, very sad to look at how far we’ve come.  I want to go back to that time when there were no computers (blasphemy!), no major highways, no big corporations.  I want to go back to a time when life was simple, when all you had to do was make a living and not worry about credit cards and student loans.  You grew your own food, made your own clothes (I might be in trouble there), and healed yourself and your land by using what nature provided.  You just did what you were good at, and let the chips fall where they may.

Maybe that’s a naive attitude, but I want that feeling.  I want a life in the country (I live on a lake in the boonies, but it’s not the same because I have redneck neighbors) where I can commune with nature and grow things and worship the Earth without fear.  The Earth is what takes over when you leave a place behind (just look at an abandoned building if you don’t believe me), so why not cling to those places – the places where nature rules and nothing matters but life itself.

It would be nice to go back to that time, but if I can’t, I’ll settle for winning the lottery and buying all the land and being able to shoot people who try to chop down my trees.

Did I mention I’m shit-faced?

3 Responses to Southern Fried

  1. anja says:

    That’s some mighty fine shit faced writing.

  2. Pure Evyl says:

    There is nothing like a good diner or dive. Sadly they are becoming history but as long as their is some joint serving a good chicken fried steak and gravy, I’ll be there.

  3. Anja: Shit-faced may have been a slight exaggeration. It was only 6 beers and 6 (or 10) jager shots. I was still conscious. Mostly.

    Evyl: Brown food tastes good!

Leave a Reply

