Happy-nappy? Not so much.

Have you ever been around a person whose presence or energy is just so soothing and comforting they make you feel like you’re a child in your mother’s arms being told a bedtime story?  Someone whose voice is quiet and motherly and makes your eyelids droop in a happy-nappy way?

There’s a woman in my department with just such an aura.  I used to work 3rd shift with her, and she never failed to put a smile on my face or make me feel cozy, even when I was having a hellacious take-this-job-and-shove-it night.  She came by my desk a few minutes ago just to catch up and pass the end of her break with small talk.  I’m relaxed (like jello), smiling and happy and feel like taking a nap now.  My eyelids are heavy and I can vaguely sense the doorway to dreamland… but I have about 40 more projects to finish before I can cradle my weary noggin on pillows of silken clouds. 

I hate that woman just a little right now.

Leave a Reply

