Burn me!

I got invited to a Wiccan circle for the Imbolc festival this past Saturday.  I’ve always been interested in studying other religions, so it was a really cool thing for me to actually be a part of this celebration.  They even let me summon the Eastern Quarter, just to help me understand what it felt like to be a part of the rite.  That was awesome.  It would have been even more awesome if the freakin’ Guardians of the East had made the wind blow when I called to them (element of air? hello?), but I guess they were busy elsewhere.  They were probably with my brother.  He’s full of hot air, so that might be where they go for a fill up.

When it was time to dance around the fire naked, I was so high on air that I humped a tree.  I feel a little like a whore because the tree hasn’t called yet.  Also, the virgin sacrifice was a bit much (how did they ever find one of those?), but at least it wasn’t a cat.

That last paragraph was a complete fabrication for those of you without a sense of humor.  The tree DID call. 

Anywho, when it was time to break the circle, there was a point where the leader (high priestess sounds so snooty) said something about sending healing energy spiraling up and out toward someone in need.  My mom’s health hasn’t been the greatest lately (extremely high blood pressure, high risk for stroke, scary stuff), so I was pumping those healing waves out to her with every ounce of energy I had in me.  I called her the next day, and she was in a much more positive place because her blood pressure had gone down some and wasn’t fluctuating as much as it had been. 

She’s the most Christian woman I know, so I didn’t mention her improved health might be due to a pagan ritual.  Of course, it could be due to the fact that she’s now on blood pressure medication, but I prefer to think it was a magick mojo!

Regardless of what is responsible for my mom’s improvement, I’ve decided to continue studying Wicca (I’ve been reading about it – and other religions – for years, but I’ve never really gone in depth and never practiced) because, so far, I find it to be a very earthy and healing religion, just like I’d always read.  Whatever I decide, I’m definitely going to continue to attend rituals if they’ll let me.  And I think they will.  They like watching newbies hump trees and pick bark from their teeth.

On the health front, I lost 3.5 lbs last week!  Yay for me!  I also exercised 6 days last week, resting only on Sunday, and have plans to do the same this week.  Yay for addictions to healthy things!

Meh.  I’m spent.

One Response to Burn me!

  1. Michele says:

    WOO HOO!!! Way 2 go on the weight loss!!

    I’d love to know more about the Wiccan rituals and practices. I find it extremely interesting… Especially the “DO NO HARM” part. That is amazing to me!! Maybe your Wiccan friends there know some Wiccan friends here, and maybe they’ll get in touch with me and invite me?! I’d love to be a part of it!!

    I am so proud of all you are accomplishing – you are doing so wonderful!!!
    M

Leave a Reply

