Mood Swing!

When I first saw one of her shows, I didn’t really like Nigella.  I now know it’s because I’m jealous of her and want to be her. 

She’s classy (in a naughty sort of way), she’s got the voluptuous figure of a 1950’s pin-up girl, and she isn’t afraid to show her love for food by consuming each course with spirited gusto.  She’s not afraid of taking huges bites and getting sauce all over her face or having noodles hanging out of her mouth.  And on her, it doesn’t look gluttonous!  I think I hate her a little bit for that. 

She uses words like glorious, silky, musky, and earthy to describe each ingredient.  She makes food sensual and passionate.  After watching an episode of one of her shows, I find myself having unnatural urges to rub food all over someone’s body (today, it’s Trent Reznor) and then lick (and nibble) it off… slowly.  Exhilarating, no?  Yes, yes it is.

My favorite part of every episode (that I’ve seen) is at the end when the camera shows her going to the fridge in the middle of the night to eat something totally inappropriate (according to people who don’t eat food) like a cold, leftover lampchop wrapped in a whispy layer of prosciutto.  And then there’s that lusty, blissful look in her eyes when she takes that first bite of her forbidden late-night snack.  I wish I could feel that way all the time. 

Well, then.  I’ll be at the grocery store if you need me.

2 Responses to Mood Swing!

  1. Tammy says:

    Hey Jamie, is this still you? I can’t find a contact button on this damn thing, or I’d send you an email instead of lurking in your comment section!

Leave a Reply

